top of page
  • Eli

Hackler Elected Captain, Team Awards Announced

Men's Lacrosse 6/6/2023 Tim Bennett

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – It didn't take long for Patrick Hackler's leadership qualities to catch the attention of Andy Shay. Hackler made a strong impression early on in his career with the Yale men's lacrosse team, and in 2023-24, he will have a greater opportunity to put those skills to use as team captain.

Hackler inherits the captaincy from Bryce De Muth, who did an outstanding job guiding the team in 2022-23.

"I'm excited for Patrick and our team," said Shay, the Forst Family Head Coach of the Bulldogs. "Hack has been a leader since he showed up on campus, so this comes as a surprise to very few in our program. I give a ton of credit to Bryce in handing the torch to Hack. It is a great sign of a great leader and teammate, and a reminder that leadership is a shared responsibility."

Hackler, who came to Yale from Skaneateles, N.Y., just outside of Syracuse, has been a strong contributor throughout his career. This season, he scored five goals and added five assists as a top midfielder. In 2022, he tallied 10 goals and notched three assists.

"It is an incredible honor to be elected captain," Hackler said. "I will always be grateful to Coach Shay providing me the opportunity to attend Yale and be a member of the men's lacrosse team. I could not be more excited for our team's future and can't wait to lead alongside the other seniors."

Hackler has leadership experience. He was captain of both the lacrosse and football teams at Skaneateles High School. In addition, he will have the benefit of having played with strong leaders at Yale.

"As a member of the program for the past four years, I have been fortunate to learn from many great teammates," he said. "I believe the legacy and high standards set by former captains Jackson Morrill (2019) Brian Tevlin (2020-22) and Bryce DeMuth (2023) will help me fulfill my role."

In addition to the election of the 2023-24 captain, the team awards also were announced.

2023 Team Award Winners:

DAN CASMAN AWARD: Awarded to the underclassman who has contributed most to team spirit and morale.

WALTER T. COLLINS AWARD '23: Awarded annually to a player who by his overall ability and play has been selected as the best offensive lacrosse player of the season.

RICHARD CORRIGAN AWARD: Presented annually to that member of the varsity lacrosse team who has shown the most improvement over the course of one season.

DONALD J. REAPE MEMORIAL AWARD: Presented annually by Donald J. Reape to that upperclassman who best exemplifies the character, spirit, dedication, hard work, and enthusiasm that his son Don gave to Yale Lacrosse.

WINTHROP A. SMITH AWARD: Presented by DeForest W. Smith '61, Winthrop S. Smith '59, and Donford M. Smith - Middlebury '60 to that member of the lacrosse team whose superior conditioning and team play has served as an inspiration to his teammates.

L. C. STOWELL AWARD: Presented annually to the most valuable player on the varsity squad.

CHRISTIAN PRINCE MEMORIAL AWARD: Awarded annually to a player who by his overall ability and play has been selected as the best defensive lacrosse player of the season.

BRAD GANO MEMORIAL AWARD: Awarded annually to a varsity player who has exhibited the most mental and physical toughness.

GROUND BALL TROPHY: Presented by the coach to the player who picks up the most contested ground balls.

It was another highly successful season for the Bulldogs, who reached the championship game of the Ivy League Tournament and the first round of the NCAA Tournament.

45 views0 comments


bottom of page